Although loud and chaotic, strong melodies and powerful lyrics often sit behind good punk rock songs. That’s why when songwriters from the genre strip things back for an acoustic release, another side of their skillset shines bright. This stands true to the six acoustic full-band tunes produced by Alkaline Trio’s Derek Grant an Australian singer-songwriter Dan Cribb for this Limited Edition acoustic 7″.
250 x Transparent Red Vinyl w/ White Splatter

For punk and pop-punk fans alike, Derek Grant is a man who needs little introduction, having remained a constant force of the US scene over the past 20-odd years as the drummer for seminal macabre-punk-rockers Alkaline Trio, as well as flaunting his skills in a raft of contemporary bands (The Suicide Machines, Walls Of Jericho, Broken Spoke and many others), including as fill-in guitarist for the likes of The Gaslight Anthem and Face To Face. Now, fans can get ready to be exposed to another whole side of Grant – that of guitarist, singer and songwriter – on an upcoming split EP the veteran stick-smith is releasing with local pop-punk luminary Dan Cribb, of Dan Cribb & The Isolated (also, incidentally, The Music’s Perth-based editor). The pair have been developing their rapport for some time now, with Grant most recently taking advantage of an Aussie sojourn earlier this year (while playing with scene icons The Vandals) to stage a run of co-headline shows with Cribb, during which the pair launched their respective debut solo albums. Capitalising on what turned out to be a fruitful team-up, Grant and Cribb conscripted Nick Diener – better known as the frontman for lauded pop-punkers The Swellers – to mix the release, the final product taking shape in the form of an acoustic (full-band) split, with Grant and Cribb each contributing two tracks apiece (plus a digital-only track each). Grant was responsible for every sound on his tracks, recording his contributions from his home in Vermont, while Cribb utilised Diener’s talents to lay down some bass, electric guitar and vocals for his songs. All up, the pair recorded six songs, four of which will appear on Derek Grant & Dan Cribb’s split EP when it makes its way into the world via Pee Records on Friday 11 December. You can hear two tracks — Grant’s Love Because and Cribb’s This Is Closure — below before its official physical release, which comes in limited-edition transparent red-with-white-splatter vinyl.
Earlier this year, while in Australia with The Vandals, Alkaline Trio drummer Derek Grant teamed up with Perth-based songwriter Dan Cribb for a short tour in promotion of their solo releases. Upon the commencement of which, before heading back to their opposite corners of the world, the pair formed a plan to independently record two separate halves of a collaborative release. The resulting six-track split 7″ is far from the expected stripped-back spray of power-punk. Although prominently acoustic-based, both opt to build off full band structures, with Cribb joined by Nick Diener of Michigan-based The Swellers for this contribution, while Grant shows off his own often-concealed talents, performing all the instruments for his side. Unified by a reflective tone throughout and a consistent contrast of pop clarity against minified punk chaos, the pair cover a lot of ground across the six tracks, taking us from the unexpected opening twist of country twang on Grant’s “Almost Whole” to the fiery fist-pumping finale from Cribb, “I Wanna Do It All With You”.

11 Dec 2015

Also Available From:

CAT #: PV011
Mixed by: Nick Diener @ Oneder Studios
Mastered by: Mark Michalik @ Drasik Studios
Artwork by: Annie Walter

Go top
Join Waitlist We will email you when this product is back in stock. Please leave your valid email address below.